The Apocrypha

The Apocrypha formed an integral part of the King James Version of 1611 as it had of all the preceding English versions from their beginning in 1382. But they are seldom printed as part of it any longer. These books are called Apocrypha meaning hidden or secret because they were not present in some early versions of the Bible. However they were included in the Greek version of the Jewish Bible, called Septuagint (LXX) which is the earliest existing Greek translation of the Hebrew Bible. As with the Nag Hammadi, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and the Pseudepigrapha, not everything contained in the Apocrypha is valid. Books such as The Book of Tobit and Judith as well as additions to the Book of Esther, from which we get the term Easter, have no place in God’s Word.

  • The Book of First Esdras
  • The Book of Second Esdras
  • The Wisdom of Solomon
  • The Wisdom of Sirach
  • The First Book of Baruch
  • The Story of Susanna
  • The Song of the Three Children
  • The Story of Bel and the Dragon
  • The Prayer of Manasseh
  • The First Book of Maccabees
  • The Second Book of Maccabees
Scroll to Top